The Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) provides approximately £102 million from the government to support research and postgraduate study in the arts and humanities. Awards are made after a rigorous peer review process.


The Birmingham Centre for Media and Cultural Research (BCMCR) at Birmingham City University was established in 2009 to develop research in the School of Media. It remains the hub of the songwriting studies initiative.

Birmingham City University

Birmingham City University was established in 1992 with roots in the city dating back to 1843. It is the second largest of five universities in the area, and operates across three campuses, including the rapidly developing city centre hub.

University of Liverpool

The University of Liverpool is a public university based in the city of Liverpool, England and is also known to be one of the six original ‘red brick’ civic universities. It comprises three faculties organised into 35 departments and schools.

Ivors Academy

The Ivors Academy of Music Creators is the independent trade body for songwriters and composers in the UK. The organisation is responsible for the prestigious Ivor Novello Awards, which have been presented annually since 1956.

Southbank Centre Meltdown

First held in 1993, Meltdown has grown to become one of the uk’s most anticipated annual music events. Each year the Southbank Centre welcomes an iconic artist to curate their own personal festival; showcasing their interests and influences.

Royal Birmingham Conservatoire

Royal Birmingham Conservatoire is a world class institution providing exceptional training for the musicians, actors, stage managers and performers of the future. Outstanding staff and facilities attract the best students.


The Institute of Contemporary Music Performance is London’s leading music college and has been delivering music education and training to students of contemporary music for over 30 years, longer than any other UK school.


The University of the West of Scotland, formerly the University of Paisley, is a public university with four campuses in south-western Scotland, in the towns of Paisley, Hamilton, Dumfries and Ayr as well as a London campus.